top of page
Audience in Lecture

Open Texas 2022

OT22 took place September 21-23, 2022.

The second annual Open Texas conference once again convened librarians, faculty, administrators, and other open education practitioners and advocates in Texas and beyond. The 2022 conference was held fully online via the Cvent conference platform and was FREE to attend.

The conference theme, "The Labor of Open Education," invited participants to reflect on the work, creativity, art, and science of open education. 

Jasmine Roberts-Crews and Dr. Karen Cangialosi served as keynote speakers for the conference. Learn more about them here.


Joining the Open Texas Steering Committee in leading conference organization and implementation:

Conference Chair

Rebecca Karoff, Ph.D., Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, University of Texas System

Program Committee

  • Jim Ross-Nazzal, Houston Community College, Co-Chair

  • Justin White, UT Rio Grande Valley, Co-Chair

  • Lori Bryan, University of Houston-Victoria

  • Beatrice Canales, San Antonio College

  • Sabrina Davis, Texas Tech University

  • Linsey Ford, University of Houston-Clear Lake

  • Crystal Gardner, Houston Community College

  • Carrie Gits, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

  • Dr. Bruce Herbert, Texas A&M University

  • Derek Irvin, Houston Community College

  • Lisa Louis, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

  • Kristi Moore, Angelo State University

  • Mandy Palmer, Houston Community College

  • Dr. Ramesh Sharma, Ambedkar University Delhi, India

  • Ursula Pike, Digital Higher Education Consortium of Texas

Promotion & Assessment Committee

  • Paul Sharpe, University of Texas at Rio Grande Valley, Chair

  • Ken Carriveau, Baylor University

  • Ashley Morrison, University of Texas at Austin

  • Amanda Price, Texas State University

  • Ariana Santiago, University of Houston

  • Elizabeth Speer, UNT Health Science Center

  • Heather Walker, Digital Higher Education Consortium of Texas

Digital Experience Committee

  • Jessica McClean, University of Texas at Arlington, Co-Chair

  • Heidi Winkler, Texas Tech University, Co-Chair

  • Morgan Briles, University of Oklahoma

  • Esteban Cantu, University of Texas at San Antonio

  • Christopher Fanning, Angelina College

  • Dennis Hall, Angelo State University

  • Liza Powers, Houston Community College / Texas Southern University

  • Elizabeth Rodriguez, Laredo College

  • Simon Rodriquez, South Texas College

  • Weston Rose, University of Texas System

Conference Materials

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page